pretexted

I am neither a lawyer
nor an investigator and
in this matter
I relied
on the expertise of people
in whom I had full confidence
based upon their positions with the company
and my years of experience
working with them … I deeply regret
that so many people,
including me,
were badly let down
by this reliance.

I was a subject
of this investigation
and I, too,
was pretexted.

I dispute
having ever understood or been told
that the fraudulent use of identity
was a part of this
investigation … I had
no reason to think
that anything illegal
was going on.

The fact
is that I
believe
that
these
methods
may in fact
be quite common
not just in Hewlett-Packard,
but at companies around the country.
Every company has a security department.

— Patricia Dunn, former Chair of the Board of Hewlett Packard, testifying to Congress on the HP boardroom leaks and the way they were investigated.

Published in: on September 28, 2006 at 8:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://foundpoetry.wordpress.com/2006/09/28/pretexted/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

